Holidays and Hertfordshire!

28 May

Having returned from my holiday this weekend I had a touch of the post holiday blues- all that washing and work awaiting my return as normal! However luckily I predicted my sombre mood and planned to go to the Hertfordshire County Show which fell on the May Bank Holiday weekend. We drove home from Devon in the pouring rain (which didn’t bring a smile to my face) but luckily the weekend soon brightened up and it was a beautiful day for the county show.

When we arrived we soon realised that we weren’t the only ones who thought it was a great idea. We queued to even get in the car park and then to buy our tickets. However once inside, although it was busy, it was lovely to see the show so well supported. We met up with friends and sampled a wide range of the finest foods on offer. There was plenty to watch in the arenas including carriage driving, stunt bikes, show jumping and even dancing diggers! It was a lovely day and I would highly recommend it. Further information about the show can be seen on their website http://www.hertsshow.com/.

Now I can’t finish this blog without telling you a little bit about our holiday. We stayed in South Devon in a lovely cottage in a very remote but beautiful area. I felt rather stunned when we first arrived and didn’t see anyone or have any phone reception but by the end of the holiday I loved it- it was exactly the break I needed. We took our lovely dog Lexi who had a brilliant time running on the beaches, climbing up the mountains and settled really well in our comfy cottage and home for the week. During our stay we visited Dartmoor and saw some beautiful ponies and their gorgeous young foals. It was a special sight to see and I tried to capture the moment with some photos as we drove past. Here are a few of my favourite holiday snaps but don’t worry I won’t bore you with too many! It was a week break from being with my lovely horse and I was pleased to see him on my return. Maybe next time I will take him with us!!

IMG_0335

IMG_0304

IMG_0355

IMG_0302

2 Responses to “Holidays and Hertfordshire!”

  1. finlaym1 May 28, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    Looks idyllic!

  2. Jade May 30, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    County shows are always fun aren’t they (even in the rain!) Jx

Leave a Reply

